top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Probiotics

I have stomach problems. There is no diagnosis for it. My stomach is just screwed up and it has been for 15 years. I never know when I might have a flare-up of whatever it is.


I heard about probiotics a few years ago. What I read about them indicated that they might help my stomach. I also liked that they could possibly help the immune system and vaginal health. This made me eager to try them!


I first started taking ones from the Culterelle brand. During that time I did not notice a difference at all but I kept taking them anyways. About a year and a half ago, I came across a supplement company called Beeyoutiful ( https://www.beeyoutiful.com/Default.asp). Their line of probiotics really intrigued me.


I decided to go with the Tummy Tuneup capsules (https://www.beeyoutiful.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=TummyTuneup120 ) mainly because they stated it helps with nausea quickly after taking them. I have to say that I did notice a slight difference if I was nauseated and took one. The only way it would work even a little bit though is if I took the probiotic straight. This means that I twisted the capsule open and dumped the powder directly in my mouth.


In the past three months I have been using the chew-able form of Tummy Tuneups (https://www.beeyoutiful.com/Tummy-Tuneup-Jr-Extra-Strength-50-Chewable-Tabs-p/tummytuneupjrextrastrength.htm). Not only do they taste good but I swear I feel even more of a difference than I did with the powder. I still have a messed up stomach overall but any kind of improvement is still good.





In terms of vaginal health and immunity, I haven't noticed a difference.


What does the research say?


There has been a lot of studies done on probiotics. These studies have shown a lot of promise in regards to what they can do for our health. This is what prompted me to start taking them.


As with the other things I have talked about on this blog, nothing is definitive as of yet. The studies are still pretty weak. Probiotics used as a treatment for C.Diff seems to have the strongest evidence behind it.


What I thought was interesting was the idea that probiotics might actually be harmful (see here: https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/324834.php#1). It would really suck to actually be making things worse for our guts!


Should I keep taking them?


That is a question I have been asking myself. Are they actually worth it or is it just placebo? If I am getting a placebo effect...does it really matter? After all, a placebo can still be effective even if you know it is a placebo (see here: https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/placebo-can-work-even-know-placebo-201607079926).

I think I will stop taking them for a while and see if I do indeed notice a difference in my stomach.I don't want to be wasting money that I don't really have.





Have you taken probiotics? What was your experience? Thanks for reading!




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page