top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Armpit Odor!

Armpit odor is not something that is on the lists that detail common symptoms of PCOS. I do know from looking at other websites that it can be a problem due in part to our lovely hormones! It definitely is one of my symptoms at times.


They get truly foul

I will find a deodorant/antiperspirant that works great for me for a while and then all of a sudden it stops working. My armpits get completely rank, giving off a awful "can of soup smell." It is gross. I also deal with a lot of perspiring.


Whenever this has happened, I get desperate to find something that works. I end up trying things that have never worked before in hopes that it will maybe work that time. These things include patting on baking soda, cleaning them with Vagisil soap, wiping with hydrogen peroxide, wiping with witch hazel, wiping with rubbing alcohol, wiping with vinegar and wiping with salt water.


The only one of those that works for me a little bit is the Vagisil soap. I have to wash my pits with it multiple times a day though. The rest actually make it worse. The bad smell ends up becoming even more powerful. Yuck!


Then came essential oil!

Recently I have become an essential oil fanatic. Peppermint oil in particular is my favorite when it comes to making our homemade hand soap, my hair rinse and for my stomach flare ups. I have now figured out that applying it to my armpits kills the odor problems completely!


It might seem weird to be excited about something like this but I can't help it. I was in the midst of one of my stinky phases and was again, desperate. I just decided to rub some under my armpit, not thinking it would do anything.


I was so surprised to find out that it killed the odor! I put it on my dry armpits and then put a deodorant/antiperspirant over it. This method is really working for me! I would highly recommend anyone to try it.


Since essential oil is really powerful and can't be applied directly, it needs to be diluted in a carrier oil. These oils include almond, olive and jojoba. I use essential oils at the 2% diluted level (2 teaspoons of carrier oil and 5 drops of essential oil). This is good for hair and skin purposes.


Maybe you will find an essential oil that works for you


Essential oils are really interesting in my opinion. I do realize that there needs to

be more scientific research done on them though.


A lot of other people have had great experiences with them too. I really liked this write-up in particular: https://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/uses-for-peppermint-essential-oil/




Have you used essential oils? If so, which ones and what did you use them for?



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page