top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

LED Light For Skin

Many people have to deal with skin ailments. These can range from very mild to severe. Fortunately, the amount of treatments available keep increasing as more research is done.


When it comes to acne and aging, there are a lot of people looking for fixes. Anything that is labeled as helping these concerns are sure to get bought. As a person who deals with both of those things, I often become a victim of the marketing.


A lot of products I have bought have done absolutely nothing for my concerns. Yet I keep trying things out anyways due to hype! I think this is what is known as being a "beauty junkie." #beauty


Recently I came across LED light therapy for the skin. I thought it sounded really interesting. Since I am slightly desperate to fix my issues (hyperpigmentation/melasma and sagging), I ended up buying an LED light massage device.


In this post, I will discuss what LED light therapy is, the alleged benefits and how I will be using my device.


LED light therapy definition


LED lights are more efficient than other types of lights. They do not burn out as they just keep getting dimmer instead. LED is an acronym for "light emitting diode."


LED light therapy involves the use of the skin being exposed to this kind of light. The power and the color can vary based on the skin concern as well as the severity. Red and blue are more commonly used but purple, green, yellow and white are also used.


The alleged benefits


Based on some studies, there are said to be benefits when our skin is exposed to LED lights. Dermatologists and spas have gotten good results for their clients. It is important to note though that at-home devices probably don't yield as dramatic of results.


The different colored LED lights target different skin complaints. Information taken from various sources indicates the following being the benefits of each color:


Blue- Kills acne causing bacteria

Red- Collagen production (anti-aging)

Purple- Inflammation reduction

Green- Skin tone evening, hyperpigmentation spot lightening

Orange- Skin brightening

Yellow- Helps soothe sunburns, reduces redness

Pink- Collagen production (anti-aging)

White- Heals acne scars and dark spots

Near infrared- Penetrates deeply and speeds healing


The fact that there are quite a few research articles showing positive results from LED light therapy, is exciting. Hopefully there will be even more studies done on it in the near future.


Where to get LED light therapy


There are many spas that are now offering light therapy as one of their services. The cost for a session can range from $25 to $100. You will need several treatments to get results.


There are also at-home devices available on the market. They come in wands, face massage devices, masks and lamps. The costs can range from $25 to $750 (as per Amazon).


An example of a salon that offers LED light therapy: https://www.rayaspa.com/category-s/1854.htm



An example of a high priced at-home LED light therapy device:


LED Light therapy on RealSelf: https://www.realself.com/led-light-therapy (86% worth it)


My new device


Here it is!

As stated before, I decided to buy a light therapy face massage device. It was only $37 so I won't expect miracles or anything like that. I am really curious to see how it works for me!


My plan is to massage my face with it on the red light setting (for anti-aging) for 10 minutes, three times a week. I will also massage my face with it on the green light setting (for hyperpigmentation) for 10 minutes, three times a week. #skincareroutine


In a couple months I am going to reassess and see if I think it is actually doing anything. I am not going to get my hopes up though because nothing seems to make my skin better (sigh).



Sources






Have any of you done LED light therapy? How did it work for you? Let me know!












11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page