top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

PCOS and Autism

As a mother of a child who has special needs, I feel guilty. I can't help but think it is all my fault. It kills me inside sometimes.


My son is currently going through autism testing. On his first test he did not score as being in the autism category. For the second test, he scored as being borderline autistic. In my heart I know he is autistic along with having ADHD and a speech delay.


I ended up coming a cross a very recent article indicating that there is a link to PCOS and autism. Women with PCOS who get pregnant are at a higher risk for having a child with autism than women without it. This is due to the hormones that the child gets exposed to when in the womb.


I am thinking that my PCOS is the cause of his special needs. Or maybe it is genetic considering that both my husband and I have traits of autism and ADHD. Who knows.


Here is the link to the article: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30867561



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page