top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

NAC: Usage as a Treatment For PCOS;

Finding ways to treat PCOS is important to anyone who is diagnosed with it. Fortunately, there are some prescription medications on the market that can address the issues a lot of us face.


Supplements are also sometimes used as a treatment with or without the prescription medications. These are not proven by the FDA. They are talked about a lot on forums and may have some studies that show limited evidence that they work in some way for PCOS.


NAC (N-acetylcysteine) is a supplement that some women with PCOS have had success with. It has been studied quite a bit and is actually FDA approved for Tylenol toxicity. In this post I wanted to discuss what NAC is, the alleged benefits for women with PCOS and my thoughts on it.


What it is


Taken from www.123rf.com

To make this simple, NAC is classified as an antioxidant. It produces glutathione which is something that prevents cellular damage just like all other antioxidants do. Unlike cysteine (an antioxidant that is similar), it is not found in any food.


All the research is very promising. Right now it is said that NAC could be good for Tylenol toxicity (clinically proven), respiratory issues, mental health conditions, kidney health, liver health, PCOS and more (see here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5241507/).


You can find NAC supplements from various companies. It comes in capsules or powder form. In capsules, the amount in each one can range from 250-1000 mg. There are side effects that have been reported which include gastrointestinal discomfort, fatigue and itchy skin.



Here is one that is talked about a lot on forums as being more effective than the others: https://www.amazon.com/Jarrow-Formulas-Sustain-Supports-Function/dp/B0013OVVK0/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=NAC&qid=1574628584&sr=8-5


NAC and PCOS


*Insulin Resistance: Many women with PCOS are said to be insulin resistant. Even though we may not have diabetes, we should still treat our insensitivity to insulin so that it doesn't progress to that. IR is usually treated with Metformin and a low carbohydrate diet.


NAC has been shown in some studies to also increase insulin sensitivity. Although it can have side effects, the administration of it usually leads to less discomfort than Metformin. With the treatment of insulin resistance can come the reduction of some symptoms that plague women with PCOS. This includes reduced sugar cravings, abdominal fat, weight loss and excess hair.


*Fertility: Another issue that NAC has shown to have possible benefits for is fertility. Many women with PCOS have problems in this area. It could be that they have difficulty ovulating and/or they frequently miscarriage. This can be yet another devastating part of having a PCOS diagnosis.


There is some evidence that shows that combining Clomid (a fertility medication) with NAC can induce ovulation. It is important to not get your hopes up that it will get you pregnant though. Even though there is evidence, it is still limited.


My thoughts on NAC


When I first heard about NAC years ago on Soul Cysters, I was interested in taking it. I took it every day for 10 months straight. During that time I did not really notice any effects-good or bad.


I did not stop taking it after 10 months because I thought it was useless. I quit because I got pregnant! It is not something you can continue taking while you are pregnant. Plus, I had bad morning sickness right away and didn't need a supplement that could make it worse.


My husband thinks that it helped me get pregnant. I shouldn't say that it is the cause of me falling pregnant because the evidence for that benefit is limited as mentioned before in this post. I do wonder if it did play a part though.


Ever since I gave birth to my son in December of 2014, my husband and I have had unprotected sex (I am not on birth control). I have not fallen pregnant despite baby dancing in my fertile window. I have a feeling that if I didn't have PCOS, I would be on my third pregnancy by now (not that I really want to be and can afford it!).


I tried taking NAC again for a few weeks in 2017 but it made me feel sick. Ever since I gave birth, my stomach has been messed up and I can't handle any kind of supplement (and sometimes even food!). It is unfortunate to say the least.


I do feel tempted at times to start taking NAC (with my anti-nausea stuff) just to see if maybe it will help me get pregnant. It is not something that I would count on though. Neither should any other woman.





If you are thinking about trying NAC, I would definitely do research on it first. Ask your doctor about it, scour forums, look up articles etc.


Sources:










3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page