top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Dealing With Functional Dyspepsia: Align Probiotics

Functional dyspepsia is really frustrating for anyone who has it. All of the tests we take usually show that nothing is wrong with us. Thus, we end up wasting a lot of money.


The doctors seem to think that we are crazy and it is all in our heads. So then we are told to seek out therapy and/or go on antidepressants (although some are said to help with gut issues).


For this post, I wanted to discuss this topic again and give an update on how I am trying to deal with it.


The treatment options


There are very few treatments available for functional dyspepsia. Part of this is due to the fact that we don't know what causes our stomach problems and why.


The only treatments that I know of are as follows:


1. Anti-nausea prescription medication (Zofran, Phenegran)

2. Anti-nausea OTC medication/supplements (ginger, Dramamine, Unisom, vitamin B6 etc.)

3. Cognitive behavioral therapy

4. Amitriptyline

5. Hypnosis

6. Acupuncture

7. Probiotics?


My hope is that more research can be done on functional dyspepsia so that us sufferers can have more effective treatments.


New product I am trying


I have been taking probiotics by the Beeyoutiful company (called Tummy Tuneups) for a few years now. In one of my other posts, I had mentioned that I didn't really feel as though they were doing much for me.


I decided to look up what the top rated probiotics on the market are. That was when I stumbled upon the Align brand. I was immediately intrigued and decided to look more into them.



The kind of bacteria in it was one that I had not heard of and is not in the Tummy Tuneups. When I looked up reviews on Amazon there were many people raving about it. What I paid most attention to were the people that were saying that these probiotics reduced the amount of gut "flare-ups" that they get.


Even though there were negative reviews on it, I decided that I needed to buy a box. It is pretty expensive which is not good for me right now but I am desperate for relief.


I have only been taking them for 1.5 weeks now. I am not sure if I feel any different yet and I don't know if I actually will. Time will tell I guess. My plan is to keep taking them everyday for three months and then reassess.


I still have a bottle of Tummy Tuneups and I will take them along with the Align ones until they are gone. In terms of future use, I may or may not buy them again.


Not getting my hopes up


Although I am excited to see if Align works for me, I will not get my hopes up about it. I will be elated if it does help me though!




Do you have chronic stomach issues? What helps you?


Thanks for reading!













144 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page